Entrepreneurial Vision

Every Entrepreneuer Lives off Their Vision

Hidden Entrepreneurial Strengths

While I have never been formally fired I have been told that I was too creative at work for my own good. Many people see this as a problem, as if I was a poor worker. The truth is I want to create something and continually innovate so that I may improve my world.

I also think people have had childhood experiences that have lead them to have an entrepreneurial personality. I was bullied in elementary school which shaped the way I saw others. I always make it a point to be inclusive as I can because I know what it is like to be left out or ridiculed. When everyone is included I open up a world of possibilities in which I leverage the strengths of everyone around me. Being bullied has also taught me to stand up to people who try to take advantage of me or other people I care about.

The most interesting trait for the college age would be entrepreneur is the fear of going solo. In college we are taught to be job takers and not job makers. We have been educated so a large company will hire us and we can start to be another cog in the wheel. If you are like me you dread at the very thought of this. At the same time we are scared to go out on our own because we feel we do not have the support of others or the talent to turn a profit. The reality is we have very little to lose because we do not have much to start with. We are usually not married, no obligations, and have nothing but time on our hands. If there is any time to be an entrepreneur it is while we are young. I think that children in elementary school should be taught about entrepreneurship as a career option. If small business is the backbone of this country why are we not promoting it from the ground up?

Many entrepreneurs I know also do not feel like they do not fit the “norm.” While many people are complacent in their jobs doing the same thing day in and day out, the entrepreneur just doesn’t feel right living this way. They often catch themselves thinking, “There must be a better way.” Consequently they are always looking for something that is better than what they have now. The entrepreneur is thankful to have a job, but she just knows she is not meant to do what everyone else does. It is almost a sense of destiny or a calling to do something great even if they don’t know what that is. I call it entrepreneurial awareness and it allows the entrepreneur to become very observant of opportunities that others easily pass over.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hidden Entrepreneurial Strengths

  1. Hi I am so excited I found your web site, I really found you
    by accident, while I was searching on Digg for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round
    enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and
    also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a
    great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

Leave a Reply

